Absolute beginner, setting up, saying hi

Hi! I am so new I don’t even yet have Tagtool, but I have just been asked to make my first projection project and have decided, from all my research, that Tagtool is the tool I want to use.

I’m about to buy one of the new iPad Pros running 12. Before I spend the money, can you tell me whether Tagtool will be compatible? I also need to buy a projector to start developing at home – so if anyone has any recommendations (that can ideally double as a home cinema as well), please do let me know.

All your work here is amazing and inspiring. Excited to get started!

Karen

Yep, the latest version of Tagtool on a pro and 12 works great. There’s nothing else like tagtool for live work, for sure. The projector I grabbed for our gigs is the Acer A6517ST which projects a 3m wide screen from 1.5 m away so is perfect for rear-pro in a club or small venue. It’s not got 3 chip technology but is still bright enough for a 3k projector. And for big gigs where we have budget for a 20k pro we still use it on the small stage. Enjoy!!

1 Like

The new iPad is perfect for Tagtool! When choosing the projector I would consider the Ansi Lumen (light strength), resolution (size of the pixels) and mobility (easiness to carry around). We have good experience with Epson as they are resistant and have vibrant colours. According to your budget, I can recommend a EPSON EB-U42 or a EPSON EB-2265U.

1 Like

Thank you for your feedback! I looked up the projectors and they are out of price range at the moment. I am looking to spend maybe about £400 but will look at Epsons in that range. I am not projecting either live or with my own projector at first. I will make recordings and output as vid files for large projectors already installed in town. I need a projector at home just to work and possibly some guerrilla action on my neighbors’ walls (not huge or far away). :joy: Thanks again!